Last updated on August 8, 2014

Until the beginning of 20th┬ácentury, Bhutan was ruled by dual system of administration known as “chhosi” which was initiated by Shabdrung Ngawang Namgyal in 1651. Shabdrung created the office of the Druk Desi to look after the temporal administration of the country and the Je Khenpo to manage religious matters.

His Majesty, King Jigme Singye Wangchuk, fourth in the Wangchuck dynasty is head of the state. His Majesty formally ascended the Golden Throne on 2 June 1974 and since then steered the country firmly towards the objectives of economic self-reliance, cultural promotion, regionally balanced development, environment preservation and good governance.

The National Assembly, the Royal Advisory Council, the Judiciary, the Council of Ministers and the Sectoral Ministries are the organizations that play a crucial role in the governance of the Kingdom of Bhutan. At the district, block and village levels there are established mechanisms that ensure people’s participation in the decision making process.